hero image

Pharm.D. Graduates Honored During Annual Recognition Ceremony

Published on 21 May 2020

In response to the COVID-19 outbreak, this year’s Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D.) Recognition Ceremony looked a little different.

On Friday, May 8, graduates celebrated their accomplishments virtually by participating in a livestream ceremony hosted by St. Louis College of Pharmacy President John A. Pieper, Pharm.D., FAPhA, FCCP, Brenda Gleason, B.S. ’97, Pharm.D. ’98, interim dean of pharmacy, Anastasia Armbruster, Pharm.D. ’09, associate professor of pharmacy practice, and Katie Tellor, Pharm.D., associate professor of pharmacy practice.

Pieper applauded the class of 2020’s resilience and perseverance throughout their time at the College.

“It is my honor and privilege to congratulate this historic and remarkable class that has conquered four years of a new curriculum and the first pandemic this country has faced in the last 100 years,” Pieper said. “This class has overcome challenges that are among the most significant in our 156-year history.”

Gleason, Armbruster and Tellor announced this year’s award recipients.

Doctor of Pharmacy Recognition Ceremony Award Winners

  • Alexander Herold, recipient of the Merck Excellence Award for Information Mastery
  • Julie Hubbard, recipient of the Wolters Kluwer Award of Excellence in Clinical Communication
  • Patrick Ladapo, recipient of the Merck Excellence Award for Integrated Pharmacotherapy and recipient of the Schlichting-Thayer Award
  • Carolann Lang, recipient of the St. Louis Society of Health-System Pharmacists Leadership Award
  • Yoon Lee, recipient of the Merck Excellence Awards for Principles of Drug Action
  • Rachel Marchi, recipient of the Merck Excellence Award in the Practice of Pharmacy
  • BJ Miller, recipient of the President’s Achievement Award
  • Meghin Moynihan, recipient of the Phi Lambda Sigma Leadership Award
  • Avatar Patel, recipient of the Mylan Excellence in Pharmacy Award
  • Ivan Porto, recipient of the Gateway College of Clinical Pharmacy Clinical Practice Award
  • Elizabeth Ridgway, recipient of the STLCOP Excellence in Research Award
  • Blake Robbins, recipient of the STLCOP Outstanding Student Award
  • Chris Thai, recipient of the American Pharmacists Association Mortar and Pestle Professionalism Award
  • Rachel Watson, recipient of the STLCOP Medical Writing Award

The evening concluded with faculty members from the School of Pharmacy sharing their congratulatory remarks and virtually toasting the class.

The College’s 152nd Commencement celebrating the professional and undergraduate class of 2020 will be held Saturday, Sept. 5, on campus. To learn more, visit stlcop.edu/commencement.

Ready to Get Started

We're here to help you take the next step. We can't wait to welcome you to STLCOP.