hero image

STLCOP Honors Student Leaders

Published on 25 April 2016

The College recognized students at its annual Student Leadership Recognition Program and Reception on Thursday, April 14. Student leaders were honored for their involvement in student organizations and dedication to serving the community locally, nationally, and internationally.

President John A. Pieper and Terry Seaton, president of American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP), recognized student leaders’ impact on the campus community. Mackenzie Steck, Student Government Association (SGA) president, acknowledged that student leaders put others before their own personal gains. She explained that putting others first is one of the attributes that make STLCOP students stand out as leaders.

“You will touch more lives than you will ever know, and that is worth more than awards or prizes,” Steck said.

The evening continued with speeches from Toni McMurphy, vice president of culture and campus life; Kim Kilgore, dean of arts and sciences; and Bruce Canaday, dean of pharmacy and professor of pharmacy practice.

“I want STLCOP to be a place where everyone wants everyone else to succeed,” McMurphy said.

Susan Mueller, director of writing center and assistant professor of English; Anne Brackett, director of residential life; Erin Boswell, director of undergraduate student services; Rebecca Jones, director of academic support and adjunct instructor; Kimberly Hill, assistant director of academic support presented the Student Leadership Awards to cheers and applause.

Student Leadership Awards

2016 Norton Awards

Best Critique: Kendra Onoh
Global Heritage I: Jonathan Bien
Global Heritage II: Jessica Bequette
Literary Analysis: Sobia Hasan

2016 Resident Assistant of the Year

Alexandria (Wilt) Falck

2016 Orientaiton Leader of the Year

Meredith Voss

2016 Tutors of the Year

Jessie Merlo
Prince George

2016 Mentor of the Year

Kayla Braswell

Undergraduate Student of the Year

Sydney Tu

Professional Student of the Year

Mandy Bultas

National Student Leaders

Christine Hanks
American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) Public and Professional Relations Committee

Jessie Nia Hwang
National President
Student National Pharmaceutical Association (SNPhA)

Benjamin Jolley
National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) National Student Leadership Council

Ana Simonyan
American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) Certification Affairs Committee, and
Student Liaison
American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP)  Women’s Health Practice and Research Networks (PRN)

Student Organization Awards

New Student Organization of the Year

Asian American Association (AAA)

Cultural and Interest-Based Student Organization of the Year

International Student Organization (ISO)

Professional Student Organization of the Year

Student National Pharmaceutical Association (SNPhA)

Explore more stories in the categories of: Campus Life , Students , Events And Awards

Ready to Get Started

We're here to help you take the next step. We can't wait to welcome you to STLCOP.